Tags

, , , ,

We all need a little reminding once in a while, because life is like that, life engulfs us with its essence, worries and tasks that sometimes we forget what’s important. That is why i like to on occasion read words of advice from successful people to remind myself about what’s important and what i should be focusing my attention on. After all, life is short and we should make the best of it. So here are some words from an article i read. I’ll link the original so that you can read the whole thing for yourself.

  1. “If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I’m about to do today?”  – Steve Jobs

2. “Never be the smartest person in the room. And if you are, I suggest you find a different room.” – Michael Dell

3. “It took me a long time to understand it, but the best advice I ever received was to ask for help when I need it. People love to help. I don’t have to be insecure and know it all. I was reticent to rely on anyone else around me and balked at the thought of asking for help, counsel, or assistance. But when you’re in a business partnership with two other guys, this thought process is going to create serious problems.”-Chip Wilson

4.You cannot unify everyone’s thoughts, but you can unify everyone through a common goal. – Jack Ma

5. “There is no ‘correct’ way to play the game.”– Tiger Woods

6. “Why worry? If you have done the very best you can, worrying won’t make it any better.”– Walt Disney

7.  “I have yet to find the man, however exalted his station, who did not do better work and put forth greater effort under a spirit of approval than under a spirit of criticism.” – Charles M. Schwab

8. “I very frequently get the question: ‘What’s going to change in the next 10 years?’ And that is a very interesting question; it’s a very common one. I almost never get the question: ‘What’s not going to change in the next 10 years?’ And I submit to you that that second question is actually the more important of the two — because you can build a business strategy around the things that are stable in time.” -Jeff Bezos

9. “I dislike this concept of proficiency in education. … I’ve never met a Nobel Prize winner who didn’t think they had an awful lot more to learn and wasn’t studying every single day.” – Michael Bloomberg

10. “Sometimes in the thick of life, when my call list is longer than the day and people are lined up waiting for meeting after meeting, I just stop. I still myself. And look at a tree. A flower. The sun’s light reflecting off the window. And I remember love is available. I inhale it, exhale, and get back to work.” -Oprah Winfrey 

11. “My partners taught me that in order to create wealth, I needed to pair up with people whose strengths compensated for my weaknesses.” – Kevin O’Leary

12. “In your 20’s I encourage you to travel and explore the world. Get to know and respect the citizens of this planet. Have some adventure and learn about yourself and discover your true passions. And then I hope you bring it all back.” – Ross Perot

13. “Quality means doing it right when no one is looking.” – Henry Ford

 

 

14.  “I listen to the bad stuff more, so I know what not to do. The stuff that’s not selling.” – Dr Dre

15.“I don’t believe in 50 friends. I believe in a smaller number. Nor do I care about society events. It’s the most senseless use of time. When I do go out, from time to time, it’s just to convince myself again that I’m not missing a lot.” -Dietrich Mateschitz

16. “If you want to succeed, you should strike out on new paths, rather than travel the worn paths of accepted success.” – John D. Rockefeller

 

17. I train for my head—not my body. The ancillary benefits [of training] are that I’m healthy as a horse. It really does clear my mind. It’s an opportunity to wash anything from my head, business-wise or personal. That’s my moment when I can get into a zone.” -Vince McMahon

18. “A lot of people are afraid to say what they want. That’s why they don’t get what they want.” – Madonna

19.  “When it comes to making friends, what it comes down to is finding people who don’t need anything from me. That’s the test.” – Gurbaksh Cahal

100 lessons from 100 entrepreneurs

